The first Dogwood Invitational, held in April 1941, validated Druid Hills Golf Club as a challenging venue for amateur golf tournaments. Opened to great acclaim in 1912, the Druid Hills Golf Club has always nurtured talented golfers with a rich history of hosting southern championships. The Club has hosted eight Georgia State Amateur Championships and can boast having held 90 championships including the Dogwood, since the club's establishment.

The golf course at Druid Hills was designed by Englishman H.H. Barker, winner of the Irish Open in 1906. Renowned for its natural beauty and historic significance, the course was extensively renovated in 2003 by famed golf course architect Bob Cupp, whose charter was to return the property to its original Golden Era design--featuring narrow fairways and few artificial traps allowing players to experience the gracious green spaces of the Druid Hills course through a centennial of history, friendship and family.

More than a golf tournament, The Dogwood Invitational partners with sponsors in an effort to raise funds and awareness to help junior golf succeed. The Georgia Junior Golf Association and the Druid Hills Golf Club Foundation are beneficiaries of the tournament. In support of these deserving charities, the Dogwood helps Georgia Junior Golf to expand its programs throughout the metropolitan Atlanta area and continue teaching kids the game. The Druid Hills Golf Club Foundation, which administers the Reynolds Scholarship helps qualified junior golfers with their college tuition. Established in 1996, the Reynolds Scholarship awards deserving students a $12,000, 4-year college scholarship.

The future of professional golf can be seen on the Druid Hills links during the Dogwood. Past Champions include: Webb Simpson, Hudson Swafford, Brian Harman, Ben Kohles and Lloyd Jefferson Go. Other former players include:Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Matt Kuchar, Brooks Koepka, Patton Kizzire, and Ollie Schniderjans to name a few.

In the past decade the golf course at Druid Hills has enjoyed many refinements and enhancements, providing an ever more challenging site for the Dogwood Invitational. The Dogwood is ranked as having one of the best fields among amateur tournaments in the world. In hosting the Dogwood Invitational, Druid Hills' members extend their support for amateur golf by opening their homes and refrigerators to approximately 90 players during the week of preparation and the tournament. As a result of all these volunteer efforts, The Dogwood consistently ranks as having one of the best amateur tournament fields in the world and Druid Hills Golf Club is proud to continue the tradition of championship golf on our storied links.

Recognized as an elite world rankings event, the Dogwood seeks to perpetuate the tradition of competition, celebrate the game of golf and encourage participation among amateur golfers, volunteers, club membership and sponsors.

Read a year-by-year history of the Dogwood Invitational

The Dogwood Invitational Champions

1941 - Tommy Barnes
1942 - Dan Yates, Sr.
1946 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1947 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1948 - Tommy Barnes
1949 - Tommy Barnes
1950 - Arnold Blum
1951 - Tommy Barnes
1952 - Harvie Ward
1953 - Harvie Ward
1954 - Frank Stevenson, Jr.
1955 - Tommy Barnes
1956 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1957 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1958 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1959 - Jack Penrose
1960 - Charles "Chuck" Kocsis
1961 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1962 - Gene Dahlbender, Jr.
1963 - Marvin M. "Vinny" Giles
1964 - Jack Penrose
1965 - Marvin M. "Vinny" Giles
1966 - Charlie Harrison
1967 - Bill Harvey
1970 - Allen Miller
1971 - Bill Harvey
1972 - Tom Evans
1994 - Allen Doyle
1995 - Justin Roof
1996 - Robert Floyd
1997 - Steve Scott
1998 - Michael Kirk
1999 - Chris Morris
2000 - BJ Staten
2001 - Kyle Thompson
2002 - Andrew Buckle
2003 - Lee Williams
2004 - Chris Nallen
2005 - Stuart Moore
2006 - Hudson Swafford
2007 - Webb Simpson
2008 - Rory Hie
2009 - Brian Harman
2010 - Andrew Yun
2011 - Nate McCoy
2012 – Ben Kohles
2013 – Michael Johnson
2014 – Trey Rule
2015 – Dawson Armstrong
2016 – Charles Huntzinger
2017 – Lloyd Jefferson Go
2018 – Ashton Poole
2019 – Brandon Mancheno
2021 – Louis Dobbelaar